Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Soldiers

hudson

Can some one explain this for me which is on an uncles army record for 1917.

Frederick Smith 18th Hussars Expeditionary France and Flanders.

How do I trace him do I go through the Hussars or The Expeditionary Force. What is the connection. I am new to army records.

He was kia 20th Nov-1917 and buried south of Trescault in an unmarked grave then recovered and laid to rest in Flesquires Hill Cemetery France.

I would like to know if it is possible to find where he was fighting and died.

Thankyou Sylvia

Hello Sylvia

The 18th (Queen Alexandra's Own Royal) Hussars were part of the 2nd Cavalry Brigade, 1st Cavalry Division.

The basic history of his war can be found on the main site here:

http://www.1914-1918.net/CAVALRY/1cavdiv.htm

He would have been killed on the first day of the Battle of Cambrai.

Regards

Mel

Sylvia

While I am looking on your behalf (this is a learning curve for me too !) take a look here:

http://www.1914-1918.net/CAVALRY/1cavdiv.htm

This shows where the 18th Hussars, as part of the 1st Cavalry Division,spent their war.

Best wishes

Sotonmate

The B.E.F. = British Expeditionary Force was the entire British Army in France and Flanders (including Infantry, Cavalry, Engineers, Aircraft, etc.) and was thus the largest possible "unit" in the War.

The Hussars path is the one to follow.

Steve.

Sylvia

In case you do not have it:

CWGC

Name: SMITH

Initials: F J

Nationality: United Kingdom

Regiment/Service: 13th Hussars

Date of Death: 21/11/1917

Service No: 31146

Casualty Type: Commonwealth War Dead

Grave/Memorial Reference: IV. B. 18.

Cemetery: FLESQUIERES HILL BRITISH CEMETERY

+++

National Archives Medal Index Card:

Description Medal card of Smith, Frederick J

Corps Regiment No Rank

Hussars 31146 Private

Date 1914-1920

Catalogue reference WO 372/18

++

Soldiers Died in the Great War show him as 18th Hussars