Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Boatswains` Whistles/Calls/Pipes

PhilB

I`ve seen several types of boatswain`s whistle. Some have Ordnance arrows, some don`t and the shapes of the bowl and positioning of arrows vary. Were there standard types for various times?

I`ve never seen a maker`s mark, only Made in England. Who made them? Hudson? Phil B

• 1 month later...

I have one in my collection that came with a WW2 group and

the only mark on it is "Made in England" , i am no expert but

it looks like any other B/Whistle i have seen.

Best Wishes

Colin B)

Bosuns whistles have changed very little over the centuries.

They still exist, but aren't used now as they used to be.

Now they are mainly used for ceremonial purposes in 'piping' officers on board or over the side. For this reason they all play on the same note. They are also used to draw attention to a broadcast that is about to be made (these are known as pipes, for obvious reasons). In WW+ they would have had a lot of uses for signalling different jobs to be done, assmebling men, etc.

It's a long time ago now that I was involved with this sort of thing, but they used to be quite expensivedue to the need for them to play to a precise note. I seem to remmber that it was/is a firm in the Midlands that makes them.

I don't remember whether they had an arrow on them or not. I suspect that it would have depended on just how they were being bought at the particular moment. If they were being bought as a part of a contract for inter-service musical instruments, they may well have had an arrow, but a direct contract by he RN would not specify this and it might well depend on he whim of the man on the production line.

There are plenty around with no marks, but the usual ones are these.