Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Red Baron Memorabilia

quicktoy

Hey guy, newbie here, but i just dug out of my closet a post card my grandmother had given me framed. it is written and signed in german by Manfred Von Richthofen. aka the Red Baron and post marked april 27, 1917. I am going to get it translated tomorrow. the post card is in mint condition. i was wondering where I would have it appraised and certified and what something like this is worth.

thanks for any help

Scott

Scott,

The last signed von Richthofen card I saw was going for 750 euros. That was a postcard dealer that had that one. There is a chap named Bob Gardner at aeroclocks.com who might be willing to give you some advice.

Freddy

Scott,

The last signed von Richthofen card I saw was going for 750 euros. That was a postcard dealer that had that one. There is a chap named Bob Gardner at aeroclocks.com who might be willing to give you some advice.

Freddy

He has a Richthofen autograph on his site now for £ 1680 / $ 3200 + pp.

Roland.

i couldnt scan it because its behind glass on both sides but I took a few pics. the front is dated April 26 1917 and the back is stamped and postmarked April 27 1917

I appreciate all your help. i guess i was hoping it is worth more than a few thousand US dollars so maybe I'll keep it unless I figure out who it is being sent to which may up the value

Scott

another shot of the front

post-19233-1171981203.jpg

post-19233-1171981310.jpg

The front:

Im Felde, 26.4.17

Vielen Dank für die freundl. Zeilen

Ihr

Frhr Richthofen

In the Field, 26.4.17

Many thanks for your kind message.

Yours ...

Freiherr (Baron) Richthofen

The words translated as 'kind message' literally mean 'friendly lines'.

The back:

Feldpostaddresse des Absenders

Jagdstaffel 11

Deutsche Feldpost Nr. 404

Feldpostkorrespondenzkarte

An

Anschüler Wiktor

Wien XVI

Friedmanngasse Nr. 42/5

Sender's Field Post Address

Jagdstaffel 11