Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

WWW.I ARRAS

MAYWOOD

THIS IS MY FIRST TIME ON THIS SITE LOOKING FOR INFORMATION ON MY GRANDFATHER.

HIS RANK WAS, LANCE CORPORAL, NAME. WILLIAM THOMAS PRICE.SON OF LOUISE PRICE .

ST LUKES.CLERKENWELL.LONDON.HIS REGIMENT 3rd Coy.17Div.Train Army Service Corps. NO.2015740

DIED OF ACCIDENTAL INJURIES.HE IS BURIED AT THE CEMETRY FAUBOURG D`AMIENS.ARRAS.

I WOULD BE MOST GREATFULL FOR ANY FURTHER INFORMATION REGARDS THIS REGIMENT,I HAVE VISITED THIS CEMETRY ON MANY OCCASIONS WITH MY FATHER,HE WAS JUST 3 YEARS OLD WHEN HIS FATHER DIED,I AM AT PRESEN READING THE BOOK, CHERFUL SACRIFICE, THIS GIVES QUITE A LOT IF INFORMATION BUT NOT FOR THE MONTH OF AUGUST.

A quick check on CWGC brings up this:

PRICE, WILLIAMS THOMAS

Initials: W T

Nationality: United Kingdom

Regiment/Service: Army Service Corps

Unit Text: 3rd Coy. 17th Div. Train

Date of Death: 15/08/1917

Service No: T2/015740

Additional information: Son of Mrs. Louise Price, of St. Lukes, Clerkenwell; husband of Frances Price, of 28, Canrobert St., Bethnal Green Rd., London.

Casualty Type: Commonwealth War Dead

Grave/Memorial Reference: V. J. 18.

Cemetery: FAUBOURG D'AMIENS CEMETERY, ARRAS

I guess this is your man ?

Hi May and welcome to the forum. As you know J. Nicholls' book deals with the Battle of Arras which ended in July,1917. I have looked in the Official History for 1917 and the only actions mentioned in August are those of 3rd Ypres. The other end of the British line from Arras. 17th Division is mentioned but only in October as part of Passchendaele. It rather looks as though your grandfather was one of the 'day to day' casualties and not lost in a named battle. If he was fatally injured in an accident, that may be mentioned in his unit's war diary. Perhaps one of the ASC experts can provide more specific information.

HI TOM