Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Pilot CB Spence & observer WF Rodney

Geert Spillebeen

Hi, I am just a beginner on this forum. (Registered today.)

Searching the internet I came across the names of Lt(pilot) Charles Bennett SPENCE and his observer (the Right Honourable) William Francis RODNEY. Both died on 9 May 1915 in France.

In fact I am leading a research on the First Boy Scouts (100 years ago, BadenPowell's test camp on Brownsea Island) Some of these 20 boys on that camp died in WW1. One of them is WF Rodney.

I cannot find a PICTURE of him. Can you help me? Maybe a picture of pilot Spence & observator Rodney? Or any information about the circumtances in which they died. Any document copy... would be welcome.

GEERT (Flanders)

Hi, I am just a beginner on this forum. (Registered today.)

Searching the internet I came across the names of Lt(pilot) Charles Bennett SPENCE and his observer (the Right Honourable) William Francis RODNEY. Both died on 9 May 1915 in France.

In fact I am leading a research on the First Boy Scouts (100 years ago, BadenPowell's test camp on Brownsea Island) Some of these 20 boys on that camp died in WW1. One of them is WF Rodney.

I cannot find a PICTURE of him. Can you help me? Maybe a picture of pilot Spence & observator Rodney? Or any information about the circumtances in which they died. Any document copy... would be welcome.

GEERT (Flanders)

Hi Geert

Welcome to the Forum! I'm sure you will find it enjoyable.

I can't offer you a photo but I can offer the following information about their final flight:-