Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Private James Wishart

Shanes Park Camp

I have an envelope sent from Chateau-d`Oex by James Wishart to Private R.M. Wishart 7th Royal Scots

at the Scottish Command Depot in Shanes Park Camp Randalstown.

Unfortunately the letter and contents are missing.

I would like to find out if James and RM Wishart were perhaps brothers and also any history of the POW Camp in Switzerland during WW1.

I have looked at the CWGC records and found that James belonged to the 15th Battalion Canadian Infantry

Service No. 27414. He died 18th Feb. 1917 and interred in Vevey (St. Martin`s) Cemetery grave Ref. 3.

The reverse of the envelope reads - Despatched by British Prisoner of war in Switzerland. Private James Wishart 15th Canadians Chateau d`Oex

Any other background information would be much appreciated.

post-17607-1167656675.jpg

Hi,

I am afraid I am a bit of a novice in researching myself, and have really only got experience of researching my great grandfather over the last year.

The first place to start is, however, the Behind the Wire database that lists individuals included in the report of the Committee for the treatment of British POWs, conducted after the war.

I have had a quick look at the database and a Pte Wishart of the Canadian Expeditionary Force is listed. That means he has given a report to the Committee and you should be able to access it through the National Archive. I have tried to include the link to the Behind the Wire entry.

http://www.1914-1918.net/POW/details.php?surname=WISHART

1914-1918

You can dowload pages of the report from the National Archive website at £3:50 a pop. However when I tried to search the National archive online search of the reports, for a Wishart, it came back with no result.