Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Service Numbers

Roy Evans

Looking through 'Soldiers Died' for the South Staffordshire Regiment, I note that there are three series of service numbers, having four, five and six digits respectively. I believe the four digit numbers to be the 'original' (territorial force) numbers but what is the significance of the five digit series of which there are relatively few, and the six digit series? Any ideas?

Roy,

I'm far from an expert but believe that six digit numbers, ie 205666, or 245633 relate to the renumbering of the TF in 1916 or 1917.

Apparently you can tell (to a degree) which battalion a men might have served in.

Jim

Roy,

All TF battalions started numbering from 1. So, it is pretty easy to recognise early men. Five figure numbers started being issued after the war broke out, these numbers tended to be true regimental numbers in that I do not believe they were repeated (as distinct from earlier numbers which were in fact battalion numbers). The six figure numbers were the result of the renumbering in 1917, to distinguish TF men from the others. They were issued in blocks to each battalion, and so it can be worked out to which battalion a man originally belonged.

Rob

Just to throw a spanner into the works,check out the service numbers of the original members of the 17th Bn.Manchester Regiment (2nd City - Manchester Pals). Most of these are 4 digit (usually beginning with an 8 or a 9). These were all early war (Kitchener's Army)volunteers,with not many ex-Terriers amongst them.Most of the (post July 1st) replacements had 5 digit numbers.

I know that number blocks were allocated in the 1930's (eg, numbers 1 - 294000 were all Royal Army Service Corps ,294001 -304000 were Houshold Cavalry,etc.,during WW2),but could it be possible that Regiments allocated numbers (for want of a better expression) on a "first come ,first served" basis?