Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Understanding Alfred Payne's MIC

nutthatch

post-17060-1164712176.jpg

Hi, I am a complete novice when it comes to understanding Medal Cards and would appreciate any help you guys can give me with the attached MIC for ALFRED PAYNE, my wife’s grandfather.

1. It looks as if Alfred served in three different regiments, South Wales Borderers, Royal Welsh Fusiliers and The Corps of Dragoons. Am I right in this? Why would this have been the case and would he have transferred voluntarily or would it have been forced.

2. Can I tell anything from his regimental numbers? I thought that in later years the number gave some indication of the battalion he served in and whether he was a territorial or regular.

3. It appears from the remarks box that he forfeited his medals because he deserted in 1920. Would he have received his medals by then? Can I assume that because it doesn’t say “returned” against them that he didn’t send them back?

4. How do I interpret the medal references and find the correct medal rolls? Which of his regiments would have issued them? Was it the first or last listed? Or I suppose the regiment he was serving in when the war ended?

5. Am I correct in assuming that because he was awarded the Victory and British medals that he served abroad. Does the fact that no theatre of war or no Star or SWB medals are shown that he didn’t see any action.

6. Is there an index to the medal rolls so that I can request the search service from Kew?

7. Do the other code numbers mean anything?

Thanks in anticipation

Richard

1}Yes he apparently started in the SWB & transferred to the RWF & then the Cof Dragoons.

2} His number initially indicates a later enlistment,possibly a draftee,probably post 1916.