Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

calling 2nd Gaza tank experts, again

T8HANTS

Hi

I have gone back through some old threads, but I cannot find if the tank knocked out on the Sheikh Abas Ridge on the 17th April during the run up to second Gaza has been identified. I do know that the wounded crew was rescued by stretcher bearers from C Coy 8th Hants (Isle of Wight Rifles), but have not found out the name of the tank.

All help appreciated....Gareth

Gareth - will see what I have and come back

Stephen

PS I'm not an expert but then again..... you knew that

I think it may have been Sir Archibald; Nutty being the other tank

Does that sound right to you

Hi Stephen

Yes that is a sound theory, I was given a photograph of a tank identified on this forum as Sir Archibald Murray, by a Sgt who was close to it, when it went. I had thought it was the one that broke into Tank Redoubt, but that would appear to be Nutty, a Mk1 female.

Now all I need to do is find out more about Lt Roberts of the 8th Hants, and what he got up to in Tank redoubt.

For those who have not seen this debate before here is H.M.L.S. Sir Archibald Murray.

Thanks...........Gareth

post-890-1161359738.jpg

Mates,

Yes Sir Archiblad was KOed on the 17th April with some of this crew awarded the DCM for rescuing other crew members.

Hatherall V L/cpl

Janes P Pte

Oldknow J Pte

HMLS Nutty was named after the company comander Maj Norman Nutt DSO.

Cheers

S.B

Mate,

The report said the following;

163rd Bde Operation Order No 7 17-4-17

Two tanks procecced into action at 0430 from pt 300on Dumbell Hill procceding round Sh Abbas Ridge at Pt Sq W 32d.

Tank HMLS Sir Archiblad (2/Lt Living) was hit on the left track by enemy shell fire , knocking the track off and putting the tank out of action.