Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Pte Charles Day 245235

Guest Robin Edmonds

Guest Robin Edmonds

Hi all, newbie here, so please be gentle.

I've downloaded my grandfather's MIC from the National Archive. I'm slightly confused as to what is on there. Under Corps, it has entries for 2/Lond R, which I assume is 2nd London Rifles. Then it has other cards showing 5 Lond R, 8 Lond R, 11 Lond R, and Labour Corps. The last one, which I take to be a record of his discharge date, has his corps down as LC S C ex Deacons (if I'm interpreting the handwriting correctly). Also, each card has a different badge number.

Two questions really.

Could someone please explain the different corps numbers, and how they refer to a regiment etc (I've seen the regiment referred to as 1/2 London Regiment).

How do I go about finding out what theatre of operations he would have been in. I know that he was awarded the MM, but we don't know what for (London Gazette 23 Feb 1918).

I'm trying to find out for his daughters, who have his picture with the medal hanging on the wall, but he wouldn't talk about his war record. I'm quite interested myself, and this is my first foray into any type of genealogy, so I'm not sure of the form.

Thanks in advance, I'm off to read the rest of the posts on here.

Robin

Welcome to the Forum, Robin.

Firstly the sheet of Medal Index Cards you have downloaded is for six different men. You only need to look at the one which has your man's number on it.

Unless one of the other cards mentions his number again, then these won't be for him.

If you post the details shown on this card, then we will have a further think and give you some help.