Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Hythe Mark III Camera Gun Rig

MikeS000

Greetings Gentlemen -

My first post as a member of the GWF. However, I have been studying and collecting the Great war era for many years and have several relatives who participated in the conflict.

My questions have to do with an item I obtained recently. It is a bit out of my sollecting area, but I couldn't resist the opportunity. It is a Thornton-Picard made, Hythe Mark III camera gun. It appears to be a complete rig in quite good condition and I am looking forward to possibly making it operational. the set contains the camera gun, two reticles with targets on them, a long narrow "wire probe," purpose unknown and a very nice crate marked with the Thornton Picard label.

While I have found some information on it, there does not seem to be much "historical background." This item came from the Ogden, Utah (USA) region where I believe it may have been associated with the air base.

So, here go the questions...

1. It appears to be a complete rig, but are parts missing?

2. The paint on the box appears original, wondered if it matches any aircraft color scheme?

3. There is a rectangular cartouche stamped into the wooden handle "RFC 1 (over) Broad Arrow." Ideas on what the "1" indicates?

4. I know these were used by the US in the late 'teens and 1920's. Would anyone know when they were supplied to the US?

5. And finally.., was there a specific type of aircraft the camera guns were used on?

Thanks very much. I hope I haven't asked too many questions for a first post! A photo is attached, though it is not the best.

- Best Regards from Upstate New York! MikeS

post-13842-1153923369.jpg

Welcome Mike, nothing to add to your post, but just to say that my daughter lives near Sunnyside Lake, Queensbury, Upstate New York.

Croeso

Kevin