Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Frenchman's farm near Ypres

Can anyone shed any light onto my hunt for the place of death of my Great great uncle Frank (BEF Dorsets 5th Division KIA 11th Feb 1915). I found his grave in the Wulverghem-Lindenhoek military cemetary but it is reported that he was killed in frenchman's farm and buried there first. I asked some locals but they were unaware (it is pretty obviously a British Army term) of its whereabouts. I have been sitting on his fascinating story for a couple of years (letters from the front found unread in an attic) and I chanced upon this site - it is excellent - keep up the good work. Any other information would be gladly received.

Jon,

During the war, and even more after the war the CWGC concentrated graves into the cemetaries that exist now. Maybe your great-great uncle was initially buried at Frenchman's farm and later re-interred where he now rests. You may want to try to get a paper copy of the Cemetary Register these have some useful information on how it was set up etc.

Another avenue might be the battalion war diary, by checking the entry for the day he was killed, it might shed some light on location.

Sorry I couldn't be of more help,

Jim

I'm sure that when your get Frank's story in order we all on the forum would love to see it.

Jon,

Further to Jim's post I assume that your Great Uncle was L/Cpl 9085 Alexander Frank Crawshaw, 1st Bn, Dorsetshire Regiment who was KIA Thursday 11/02/1915.

Born: Brixton, Surrey

Enlisted: Dorchester, Dorset

Residence: Brixton Surrey