Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Medal card

Guest Graeme0

Guest Graeme0

Attached is my grandfather's medal roll card...... thanks to your excellent site I think I've worked out what most of it means but I'm not an expert.....

He starts off in the Grenadier Guards then is transferred to the Royal Engineers - how would that work? Would he have requested the transfer?

Was there any particular criteria for joining the guards - I'm surprised he didn't just go into a local Surrey regiment.

And what does the small s,c over the rank mean?

I gather he was entitled to three campaign medals, plus he entered the war in Western Europe on October 7, 1915, before conscription started - would that mean he was already in the army or volunteered after the war began?

Is there anything else I've missed?

Thanks in advance for any help you can give.............

My grandad survived the war, unscathed as far as I know, but I never realised what a hero he was. But then they were all heros....

post-13149-1151586075.jpg

Your grandafther would probably have joined up near the start of the war, I would think. Most of the Volunteers first went overseas from mid to late 1915.

He would probably have transferred to the Royal Engineers due to wounds or sickness. It was unusual for a man to transfer out of the infantry except to a different infantry unit unless wounded. His RE number is a Waterways and Railways (WR) one, though I haven't seen a number that low before (the 53, that is)

Steve.

Guest Graeme0
Your grandafther would probably have joined up near the start of the war, I would think. Most of the Volunteers first went overseas from mid to late 1915.