Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

RGA Medal Card - any clues

corcam

Dear All,

I am currently investigating my great uncles, and one of them disappeared and I am therefore looking for any clues.

This medal card is the only evidence I have that he ever existed and as you can see he has an unusual name.

I am new to reading medal cards but wondered if there were any clues or whether the RGA numbers give any regiment information.

Thanks

Corcam

post-12783-1149440908.jpg

Hello Corcam

The numbers on the top right are your great uncle's service numbers.

The RGA cards do not record the battery unit details that your great uncle would have served with. I have been advised that some of the medal rolls for the Victory and the British medals sometimes gontain the details of the actual unit for the RGA.

I am not sure if this is true or the percentage of the rolls that it applies to but it may be worth either visiting the NA or paying a researcher to look on your behalf.

regards

Mel

The RGA cards do not record the battery unit details that your great uncle would have served with.

This may generally true but is not always the case. My grandfather's MIC details the battery he served with, 4th siege battery RGA.

Nigel