Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Foreign Newbie needs help!

love4history

Hello,

Although a history enthousiast I'm still a beginner as WWI medal-collector. I have acquired two sets of UK-medals. One a single victory medal and the other a duo victory/BWM

I tried to find info on the recipients based on the rim-markings and trough nationalarchives Documentsonline I came up with:

for the vic med: Roberts Alfred W, Royal Engineers 502116 Sapper and Royal Engineers T880 Sapper

for the duo: Higham Arthur, Royal Fusiliers 46157 Private and Middlesex Regiment G/41365 Private

My question: What can I learn from these results? There are two corpses/rgt numbers mentioned above eachoter, what does this mean, which one is more recent?

And finally of course: how can I find out more about these men? Did they survive the war? Were these medals awarded posthumously as well?

Thanks very much for putting me on track here!

cheers from Flanders

Hi and welcome to the forum. To answer your questions start by looking at

http://www.1914-1918.net/grandad/grandad.htm

this will tell you most you need to know. The first numbers on the Mic are the original the others later. The letters on some of the numbers do have specific meanings but I dont have a list with me.

If you want to know if they died goto

http://www.cwgc.org/

and yes these medals were awarded to casuatlies.

Best wishes Gareth

Welcome to the forum I hope you find everybody as helpful as I have

The best place to check for UK and Commonweatlh soldiers killed in the war is the Commonwealth War Graves Commission Website, generally accurate and free to search

http://www.cwgc.org/

A quick check suggests that both your men survived the war.

The G in the army number I believe indicates a man recruited into Kitcheners 'New Army', an S mean they were a Territorial (Reserve) soldier, I don't know about the T but I am certain someone will know.