Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Soldier in 8th West Yorks (Leeds Rifles)

Guest leigh-anne

Guest leigh-anne

I'm new to this so can anyone point me in the right direction of where to find the war diary for 8th West Yorks (leeds rifles)

My great grandfather fought and survied the war in this battalion. He should have recieved the victoria cross for capturing a german pill box single handedly but only recieved the military medal because he shot the occupants. His name was Pte J.R Darlington or John Richard Darlington.

If anyone can tell me where to look or may have read the war diary for his battalion and remembers his name please let me know

Thanks

Guest leigh-anne

Maybe if anyone knows of the movements of this battalion that may help. I'm at a loss with this as i dont know a great deal about the army

Maybe if anyone knows of the movements of this battalion that may help. I'm at a loss with this as i dont know a great deal about the army

Leigh Ann

If you go to the national archives website and go on the search for campaign medals if you put in John Richard Darlington Number 58787 West Yorkshire Regiment it will give you two cards to download one his his MM card the other MIC which may have more info on.They are £3.50 a shot.

Regards

Ady

Hello Leigh Ann,

According to the 'West Riding Territorials in the Great War', John Richard Darlington Number 58787 West Yorkshire Regiment won his MM with the 2/8th Battalion (Leeds Rifles). This Battalion was part of the 62nd Division. If you can give details of his London Gazette date, then it might be easier to hazard a guess at what he did/or what the Leeds Rifles were doing when he won his MM.

Regards

Ron

Your GGFather's MM was listed in London Gazette #31061, dated 11th December 1918.

WEST YORKSHIRE REGIMENT.

58787 Pte. Darlington, J. R. (Little Hulton). 8th Bn. (T.F.).

Link to the Gazette entry is Here

Hope this helps.

Steve

Guest leigh-anne
Hello Leigh Ann,