Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

DEATHWATCH

trenchwalker

this recent horror film on the great war. Is so bad it will make you cringe. ;)

i mean it is a good as a horror film which is ok.

But it is'nt til i looked at a documentuary on it. The writer went on to talk about why he made the film to show the horror of the great war as it was.The film included such things as:

ww2 no4 enfields with 1960s eqypitian S.L.R Bayonets

french ww1 gas masks

and

what looks like a bunch of blokes running threw northern ireland or vietnam.

sorry to sound like a freak but if you see it and have any idea of the great war you want get past the fifth scene. :blink:

I know what you mean. Although I'm a screen writer by trade and I'm perfectly willing to suspend my disbelief when I'm watching films, most WW1 films annoy me. Deathwatch was a bad film full stop and being a WW1 buff the inaccuaracies with equipment made me even more angry (sad I know). I thought The Trench was bad as well- I mean how many cliched WW1 characters could they have crammed into one film (and the studio sets were pretty ropey was well.)?

I keep trying to convince my writing partner that we should write a screenplay about WW1 but I hear Birdsong is being made/has been made and that should be a big and hopefully dramatically interesting (and accurate) release.

Mark

Guest Pete Wood

Oh yes, the Trench was a stinker. I can count the videos that I've switched off within 20 minutes, on one finger, and no points for guessing which film that was. But the guy who owns my local video store was very nice and let me have "All Quiet on the Western Front" (again!!) for free.....

I didn't know that Birdsong had been made into a film; it was a book I really enjoyed. I think I could happily sit through two hours of that on the silver screen.

Any more details on the company behind it, or the stars involved....??