Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Infantry Base Depots - allocation

Greenwoodman

Had a furgle around the LLT, and read that part of "Call to Arms", but couldn't find a list of which IBDs served which regiments when they changed from purely divisional IBDS. Can anyone help?

And can anyone fill in the workings of the "posting-out" dept of the IBD. For instance, how was the destination of the infantryman decided? Did he arrive as a complete novice knowing which battalion he was destined for. Wounded, recovered soldiers obviously did, as many went through Etaples on their way back to the front line and their old battalions. Or did the novice arrive unattached and initially destination-less.

Who then triggered the novice's departure? Was there a system whereby a number of draftees were sent to each battalion automatically say each fortnight? Or did the battalion request reinforcements (presumably via division)?

And finally, if an IBD served more than one regiment, did IBDs post say South Staffs soldiers to Notts and Derbys battalions, should the need have arisen?

Good question. From what I am seeing in the unit I am researching, the relationships between IBDs and relevant regiments became more tenuous as the war went on. By late 1917-18 it seems pretty random, esp after 21 March 1918.