Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Still Finding Gunner Hyde RGA 36441

Joshua1

Hi everyone,

I'm new to this very interesting forum.

I'm searching for any information about the Unit/Battallion/Brigade my grandfather served in during WW1, so I can see where he was serving and what he was doing.

His medal index card says Vivian F Hyde Corps RGA Rank Gunner 36441

Medals RGA/113B Pg 1256 Issued 14/4/1921

Victory A263

British

1915 Star RGA/1a/2/112

Theatre of war first served in France 19/8/1915

He married my grandmother in Portsmouth 1st August 1915 at St Thomas Garrison church.

He was born in Gorleston Suffolk 1892 and his two brothers served in the Norfolk Regiment.

I only have one photo of him in his RGA uniform and someone said he may have been a regular before WW1

I've tried for his service record but it looks as though it's one of those that hasn't survived.

A recently discovered relation says he served as a sergeant in WW2 at an armaments factory in Wrexham.

Would his WW1 record be filed with his WW2? Would he keep the same number?

I'd be really grateful for any help or information anyone can give.

Thanks

Ken

Hi Ken,

Unfortunately his army number is no help in this quest. It would appear to be one associated with a regular army battery.

If you can obtain the medal roll from Kew for your man you may be lucky and find it listed alongside his name. If not it would be guesswork.

Roop

Ken

As Roop suggested it may involve guesswork, so here's mine.

During August 15 three Heavy batteries RGA went out to Western Front and nine Siege Batteries RGA.

20th H B - 7th Aug

21st H B - 20th Aug

22nd H B - 31st Aug

23rd S B - 20th Aug

24th S B - 20th Aug

25th S B - 3rd Aug

26th S B - 3rd Aug

29th S B - 31st Aug

30th S B - 27th Aug

33rd S B - 8th Aug

34th S B - 18th Aug

45th S B - 31st Aug