Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Uniform ID

Tim

This is my Great Grand Father, Thomas Michael BERRY, from Southend On Sea, Essex. I have stuff all details on his military service. All I have is this photo and the fact he survived the war.

post-11408-1144234392.jpg

The badge on the Pith helmet "appears" to be a Royal Engineers. Can anyone confirm or deny?

Does the Pith helmet indicate he was going to Egypt, Palestine etc?

Any help is much appreciated.

Cheers,

Tim

Tim

There is a 109647 Sapper Thomas M. Berry in the MIC's, who was renumbered WR/289329. The badge certainly looks like the R.E.'s, but it's easier to tell with a x10 magnifyer. As he's wearing KD he's for service in either the Middle East or India. Is this the correct T.M.Berry?

Graham.

He was a carpenter & joiner by trade as was his father and all of his brothers.

There is another Sapper Thomas M. Berry 148960 in the MIC's.

There are also 4 Sapper Thomas Berry and 1 Corporal Thomas Berry (R.E.) in the MIC's.

So your guess is as good as mine Graham! :)

Excuse my ignorance, but KD stands for???

His daughter tells me she has photo of him with a camel. So I guess it's fair to assume he was in Egpyt.

He was a carpenter & joiner by trade as was his father and all of his brothers.

There is another Sapper Thomas M. Berry 148960 in the MIC's.

There are also 4 Sapper Thomas Berry and 1 Corporal Thomas Berry (R.E.) in the MIC's.

So your guess is as good as mine Graham! :)

Excuse my ignorance, but KD stands for???

His daughter tells me she has photo of him with a camel. So I guess it's fair to assume he was in Egpyt.

KD stands for Khaki Drill (his uniform)

Cheers, Ivan

Tim,

Reference "KD" it stands for Khaki Drill, and it's a lightweight cotton uniform worn in hot climates.