Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

1st Bn. Royal Scots Fusiliers

LISA

I was hoping that someone may be able to give me some advice or help please. After reading the post on people who join the forum and don't make any posts I have finally decided to ask a question !!!

My great grandfather was Pte. Henry Smith (202590) of the 1st Bn. Royal Scots Fusiliers. Unfortunately nothing was known about him within our family as his son (my grandfather) died before I was born.

I have found some info. from the CWGC and also from The Scottish National War Memorial. I now know that he was killed in action F&F on 26/9/17 and is buried at Tyne Cot.

Could anybody help me or point me in the right direction as to how I could find out in what battle he died. I wondered if he may have died in the battle of Passchendaele - although this is just a guess as I am new to this.

Any help would be gratefully received.

26th September 1917. Battle of Polygon Wood.

3rd Division attacked at 5.30am with 76th Brigade and 8th Brigade.

8th Brigade attacked in a ground mist. The 2nd Royal Scots and the 8th East Yorks led with the 1st Royal Scots Fusiliers and the 7th KSLI in support. The Scots with their right flank on the railway, took the first objectives. The East Yorks came across some particularly marshy ground and were forced to split up to by-pass the flooded area.However, their objective the Red Line, was reported taken by 7am. The Royal Scots Fusiliers and the KSLI took over the advance and went on to take the western slopes of Hill 40, just short of the Blue Line. An unsuccessful attempt to take Hill 40 was made at 6.30 pm.

The enemy counter-attacked but were repulsed. Another counter-attack forced back the leading troops but a British counter-attack was made by 12th East Yorks who retook nearly all the ground lost.

From Passchendaele - the day - by - day account.

The area of Hill 40 is NE of Frezenberg.

Possibly a casualty of this action.