Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Repatriation of bodies following the end of the war

dorrie

The Commonwealth War Graves commission (or as it was imperial War Graves Commission ) refer to eqaulity and that bodies should not be returned home. Is this making reference to the fact tha those with money could return there relatives home and the those without could not. Which I am sure would have create a very difficult situation as well as the nigt mare of logistics etc. Despite the idea of equality were many bodies returned home? Can anybody point me to any artilces books etc that are related to this subject?

Thanks

Dorrie

This is a subject I have been researching for several years now and hope to publish the results one day.

Repatriation from a war zone was banned from mid-1915. Prior to that time only a handful of officers were repatriated to the UK due to relatives having to pay the cost. The ban was put in place mainly because of the logistical, health and morale problems the return of thousands of bodies would create. The cost would have been irrelevant as it would be borne by the relatives - presumably.

A tiny number of men were repatriated to Canada from war zones after the war through illicit means and also, of course, the Unknown Soldiers.

To date, I have traced only 27 British men repatriated from a war zone during the war - all before the ban was instituted. In addition there were a handful returned after the war including the Unknown Soldier, a merchant seaman and three men from India.

The ban did not apply to Canadians etc who died in the UK and quite a few of these were returned home. I am currently researching those Canadians so returned home from the UK and USA. Only one Australian was ever repatriated plus their Unknown Soldier. A few South Africans were also returned home from German South West Africa. No NZs were returned other than their recent Unknown Soldier.