Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Medal Card transcription

Lorac

post-11353-1141925674.jpg

Im a complete novice at this so can someone please help me transcribe my Gt.Gt.Grandfathers Medal Card.

Im particuarly intrigued by the 'Clasp'. What is this and can I order a copy of one like you can medals?

Thanks in advance of any responses.

Matthew Coverson was 7734 Private in the 1st Battalion The East Lancashire Regiment

he was granted the 1914 Star; British War Medal 1914~1920 & Allied Victory Medal,1914~1918.[The codes refer to the Medal Roll pages in the MR Books]He is shown as Discharged but as there is no "SWB/List***" annotation; He obviously didn't apply for a Silver War Badge.

He was also granted the August 5th November 22nd 1914 Clasp & Roses to his 1914 Star{meaning he had been in range of the enemy mobile Artillery for a period during that qualifying period}He went to France/Flanders on 22nd August 1914.Replacement Clasps can be readily purchased Speedbid,Ebay & a Number of Online Retailers sell them @ around £2~£5 a piece.Here's One:Medal Ribbons / Bars etc;::>>

Unless he extended his term, he would have been a reservist who was recalled to the colours when war was declared in August 1914. He probably originally joined the East Lancs around 1903/1904.

Thankyou both so much for the wealth of information you gave, I could never have worked that out for myself. Having experts like you around makes genealogy that little bit easier.

Just to clarify things, this Matthew was actually my Gt.Uncle not Gt.Gt.Grandfather. Matthew is a very common name in my tree and I'd got a little confused with the dates. What can I say except I'm 'blonde'.

Matthew, my Gt.uncle, died as a result of war wounds on 22/5/1917. I've discovered he appears on a memorial not too far from me which I definitely intend visiting to pay my respects.