Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Royal Welch Fusiliers

staffsreg

a question to all our Welsh members,

Why were the Royal Welch Fusiliers so tenacious in battle, was it a point to prove,

were their NCO'S and Officers so much better than the rest?

They are a regiment any Brigadier would relish under his command, yet without

being a 'classier' up-market regiment such as the Queens Westminsters et al.

An 'Elite' force.

just what made them 'gel 'so well?

Hi Langley, I thought you'd reply to this one! LOL

Could you expand on your answer though?

was it the calibre of man or leadership or nco's or simply Spirit?

I am only an expert on the two regular battalions. They were officered in 1914 by landed gentry, often English-Welsh borders, with only a handful of aristos. The WOs and NCOs were, in the main, a fine and experienced bunch, and both battalions had given accelerated promotion over the years to men who turned out very well: CQMS Ward [1914] made Captain 1918 [DCM too] and was made a full corporal within 18 months of joining in 1901. The QM, Yates, made Major [MC], and he jumped several ranks c. 1910. This meant that dead men's shoes did not apply. A CSM in 1914 made Lt Col well before the end of the war, and finally, the men were what Frank Richards described as the best fighting men in the world, with a huge Birmingham component.

As the war went on, there was undeniably a deterioration, but the battalions continued to get, and do, the rough jobs.

GGF was with them (4RWF Pioneers) and whilst I never met him my father remembers him as a 'hard b*stard' with very little time for those who didn't 'get on with it'. I tend to think that if many in the RWFs were similar in nature it would have been a fairly single minded outfit.

In his case he'd served 1888 - 1910 (incl SA Wars) so he bought a wealth of experience.