Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Rank \ formation hierarchy

Barry Hayter

Anybody got a good outline \ www link which diagramatically outlines the composition of the British Army during WW1. i.e. King at the top (I assume) and the various divions and Companys beneath incl ranks?

Don't expect this would be available detailing actual named battalions etc but a generic structure would be hugely useful to my understanding of where soldiers \ Officers fit into the picture. I love reading other peoples posts about relatives but as a novice I struggle sometimes to visualise where such a person slots into the equation.

Army - Corps - Division - Brigade - Battalion - Company i think this is the basic structure, im sure someone will go into more detail. If you go to the main site (long long trail) there is a detailed explanation of this.

dave

Fear not, you have much company in your confusion. The hierarchy of the British Army in World War I was particularly complicated, with many instances of the same word having two or three very different meanings. To further complicate matters, the hierarchy changes slightly in the course of the war.

In the hope of shedding a bit of light on this issue, I will provide my view of the hierarchy of the British Expeditionary Force in the summer of 1915.

The King (de jure commander of all military forces)

The Secretary of State for War (Kitchener) (de facto commander of all military forces)

The Field Marshal Commanding the (British) Expeditionary Force (French)

(The headquarters of the Expeditionary Force was called the 'General Headquarters' - 'GHQ'.)

A numbered army (e.g. First Army, Second Army), commanded by a general or lieutenant general

A numbered army corps (e.g. I Corps, II Corps), commanded by a lieutenant general

A numbered infantry division (e.g. 1st Division, 2nd Division), commanded by a major general