Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Any Liverpool Regiment experts?

David_Bluestein

Any Liverpool Regiment experts?

Looking for details of the activities of the 7th Bn. Liverpool Regt. on April 9, 1918?

Any help greatly appreciated.

Thanking you in advance for your help,

David

David,

I'm not an expert, but until one comes along:

The 55th Division were holding the line at Festubert when the German attack fell on them. The Bn War Diary contains a 3 page narrative of events which I will scan and post here tomorrow.

Ken

I'm not an expert, but until one comes along...

So, by accident you happen to know where they were and have a copy of the relevant diary.

You are far too modest Ken! :)

Well, I suppose that in the land of the blind, the one-eyed man is King....

What I really meant was, there are many who know far more about the King's Liverpool Regiment than I. :unsure:

Ken

Well, I suppose that in the land of the blind, the one-eyed man is King....

What I really meant was, there are many who know far more about the King's Liverpool Regiment than I. :unsure:

Ken

Ken,

THANK YOU kindly for your response! I never imagined that I could get so lucky, I will wait with great anticipation for the diaries.

My kindest regards,

David

This is the 1/7th Battalion War Diary for April 1918. Compared to other WDs for the division that I have seen, the 1/7th is by far the briefest. Fortunately, the events of the 9th April 1918 were significant enough to warrant a separate narrative entry (which follows).

post-927-1140605306.jpg

David,

I had to play around with the file format and size to keep under the Forum limit. If you want the original, full size scans, send me a PM with your e-mail address and I will e-mail them to you.

Is you query in relation to an individual, or a new medal group? If so, let me have the details and I will see if I have any additional information.

Regards,

Ken

Bravo Ken!