Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Is there a Doctor in the house?

michaeldr

Every year in this part of the world [eastern Med] we hear about ‘West Nile Fever’

And every year we hear about a number of people dying from it

I am a layman on this [and other topics]

But looking around the web I understand that this disease was only identified during the inter-war years

My question for the medical professionals amongst us is this

Although unknown/unidentified/unrecognized at the time - 1915

Is it possible that this is what killed Rupert Brooke?

2 April 1915 – attack of Dysentery

9 April 1915 – On the transport ‘Grantully Castle’ Denis Browne records that as Brooke got better he developed a little sore on the right side of his upper lip; it may have been an infected insect bite. It swelled up for about two days and then went away.

20 April 1915 – Battalion on exhausting field day on Skyros. Brooke refused to be left behind, but went to bed early after dinner believing that the wine had made his lip swell up again

Swelling becomes acute

23 April 1915 – Brooke dies in the afternoon onboard the French hospital ship ‘Duguay-Trouin.’

[Details from IWM’s book ‘Rupert Brooke’s Death and Burial’ 1992]

Any professional medical comments will be most welcome

Regards

Michael D.R.

<::West Nile Fever::> :blink:

This Link might help you make up your minds???