Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Help with Bantams

Guest tess

Hi, I'm very new to this so please be gentle!

I'm trying to locate any information about my great great grandfather, all I know is that he served in the Buffs, Bantam division during WWI his name was Valentine Smith, he left the army after the war, and although I have been told he gained service medals I don't know where he served of what he did.....Does anyone know where I might go from here?

Thanks

Tessa

Have you tried searching for his Medal Index Card at the National Archives online? That might give you some more information with regards to his unit and will tell you what medals he would have been entitled to.

Have a read at the Long Long Trail mother site (link at top of this page) it will give you good pointers.

Barrie

Tess,

The link below takes you the medal index cards of all of the Valentine Smiths (registered with this facility)

http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/documen...Spec=score+desc

The 1st entry is Valentine Reginal Smith - East Kent Regiment (The Buffs)

Here is the link to his medal index card that you can download for £3.50

http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/documen...&resultcount=21

The medal index card will look similar to this:

Hope this helps and your research goes well

Tom McC

post-10175-1140176323.jpg

I think this could be his medal card, although there are a few. Do you know if he had a middle name, this man is Valentine Reginald Smith, the only one from the Buffs (East Kent Regiment) that I can see.

http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/documen...&resultcount=21

Barrie

Tom - we obviously have too much time on our hands :D

THanks Guys, I'm sure I've down loaded this before (just looking through a mountain of paper) its the "reginald" that throws me, nobody can remember him having a middle name?

I'm going to down load again now anyway, and see if it helps.................

T

Hi Tess,