Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Artillery generally

Kathie

I am trying to write an introductory paragraph to a chapter on an RGA soldier and want to say something like - The British military authorities had assumed that the cavalry would lead the way but it was the artillery whcih exemplified the industrailisation of this War. I do have a fancier four lines but have left them elsewhere. I then spent my entire weekend trawling through all my books becuase I have a feeling that this point has been made before and so much better than me.

Please help - is what I am wanting to say correct? Has it been said and by whom and where?

This raises antoher issue. I am writing up my soldiers. I am giving each a small introductory chapter on his battle. At the end of each chapter I am saying that I have no original knowledge of the battle etc etc and so have relied completely on ..... and then I detail the books. Is that enough? Essentially I have two or three pages describing a battle which is taken entirely from two or three books. I cant put it all in quotes. so I havent put quotes unless it is an individuals description of how he felt. For the rest when an author has described who did what and what happened I do not put that in quotes. What would other authors or readers suggest?

Thanks

Kathie

White Heat by John Terraine covers the industrialisation of war.

A good read.

zoo

There is a book called 'Firepower' which deals with the artillery during the First World War and beyond. I think what you are saying is broadly correct - forget machine guns, bayonets and rifles the most deadly force (by casualty numbers) was the artillery.