Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Wonderful old photograph

wig

post-9356-1138742507.jpg

This is a really terific photograph. When I was a young soldier I remember the PTI's wearing those red and white striped jumpers, like something out of the Beano. (I wonder where they came from). Here the officers are in whites, one with a cricket jumper, one in his fencing gear. I think it really belongs to its age and is quite wonderful.

wig

Wig,

What a great photograph.

Andy

When men were men! I notice fencing helmets. Surely they didn't fence with swords like that?!

I wouldn't want to argue with the chap bottom right.

Great picture. Do you have any background on it John, other than what is written on the front?

Tall chap is Lt. Dickson, 2/7th Sherwood Foresters, newly commissioned from the Inns of Court O.T.C. and one month before going to Ireland to suppress the rising. He was shot at Mount St. Bridge but the bullet lodged in his 1914 Field pocket book. Does anyone know the size of the Field Service Pocket book as I have a photograph of his book but without a scale can make no estimate of the size of the bullet lodged therein.

wig