Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Explanation required

snailybailey

Excuse my ignorance as I'm new to the research game and unsure about the 'hierarchy' of rank but can any member explain what the position of 2nd lieutenant was? and did that make them an official Officer rank?Actually a full explanation from private upwards would be very useful!

Cheers

Glyn

Ranks in the British Army

Commissioned Officer

-------------------------

Field Marshal

General

Lieutenant General

Major General

Brigadier

Colonel

Lieutenant Colonel

Major

Captain

Lieutenant

Second Lieutenant

Non Commissioned officers and other ranks

--------------------------------------------------

Warrant officer first class

Warrant Officer Second Class

Sergeant Major

Staff Sargeant

Sergeant

Corporal

Lance Corporal

Private

Thanks for the info, very useful

Glyn

:D

A Second Lieutenant would usually be in command or second in command of a platoon, but in times of battle could command a company. They had the highest likelihood of being killed, due to relative inexperience of trench life if not commissioned from the ranks, and because they were expected to lead from the front.

A Second Lieutenant would usually be in command or second in command of a platoon, but in times of battle could command a company. They had the highest likelihood of being killed, due to relative inexperience of trench life if not commissioned from the ranks, and because they were expected to lead from the front.

Cheers again for this info...I was researching a 2nd Lt KIA aged just 19. Not sure if this is unusually young for this rank?

Glyn

Excuse my ignorance as I'm new to the research game and unsure about the 'hierarchy' of rank but can any member explain what the position of 2nd lieutenant was? and did that make them an official Officer rank?Actually a full explanation from private upwards would be very useful!

Cheers

Glyn