Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

legend or fact?

jamesbow

hi to all,

as a newbie here i would like to ask a question regarding facial hair.i was led to believe since a child that my father was special because he was allowed to have a long waxed ,moustache.as a leading stoker i thought this was not allowed(kings regs) you had to have a full beard and moustache or clean shaven,you could not have just a beard, or just a moustache.i have photo's of my father in uniform ,at sea and in his tropical whites with his moustache,any ideas would be very welcome.i have been asked also to put my fathers service record on here,so here goes:

william alfred bowskill born bedfordshire 1883, he joined up on the 28-12-1905 .

ships , shore stations are as follows:

acheron

pembroke

topaze

diamond (sunfish)

st george(sunfish)

astraea (sunfish)

actaeon(porcupine)

doris

drake

bacchante july1914-feb 1916

prince george

pyramus

europa.

i have a speech written on wax stamped paper of admiral de robeck to the fleet on leaving the dardanelles,talks about lord kitchener etc.if any one is intrested i will post it on here when i work out how to do it?.

all the best jamesbow

Wasn't there a conversation on this sort of thing last year? IIRC 'Dirty Dick' was one of the participants.

Someone had a postcard of a sailor with just a moustache and wanted to know more.

...i have a speech written on wax stamped paper of admiral de robeck to the fleet on leaving the dardanelles,talks about lord kitchener etc.if any one is intrested i will post it on here when i work out how to do it?.

all the best jamesbow

James, welcome to the forum. You have posed an interesting question and I will watch with interest to see what comes of it.

Concerning the speach by De Robeck, yes please!

Regards,

Bruce

Hello James,