Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Artillery Sound Ranging

Guest glenbak

Good Evening All,

This is my first attempt at posting i hope its ok?

Can anybody give me any information on the science of flash spotting and sound ranging an artillery piece in

Glenback,

In his recent "Call To Arms", Charles Messenger devotes a sound number of paragraphs to the subject, while talking about new weapons, or new developments around old weapons during WW1 (I found the issue very inteesting, which is remarkable as I have never had a particular interest in artillery!)... In short it can be said that during the period, those techniques evolved considerably. I'll go find the book -if I can find the right shelf- and check if there is any mention of sources/bibliography...

Gloria

Glen.

David Horner's book 'The Gunners - a history of Australian artillery' is one of a number of WW1 books I have had for a while but never actually read.

However, he does say with refrence to the Somme (p120):-

"The location of enemy targets was improved by the introduction of two techniques - sound ranging and flash spotting. Sound ranging relied on placing a number of microphones along a base line and calculating the distance to the enemy guns from the intervals in time it took for the sound to arrive at the different locations........Flash spotting involved the observation of the flashes from enemy guns to locate their position. It was only effective when all observers concentrated on the one target at the same time."

I can add no more unfortunately. In my view the role of artillery in WW1 is widely under appreciated - largely due to the very limited amount written about it.

Neil