Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Indian Women in the First and Second World Wars

Guest radhika

Hi everyone

My name is Radhika and Im a post graduate student from India who's working on the experiences of Indian women during the two world wars. I'd appreciate any information you might be able to give me regarding Indian nursing units or Indian women in the army or navy.

Thanks so much in advance. I hope to get to know you guys better in the future. :)

Best wishes

Radhika :D

Radhika, I don't know whether Indian women were at all involved in nursing in WW1. If they were, it was probably in Iraq or thereabouts.

I have been researching NZ nurses and one says in a letter that the European/ British nurses in France were not allowed to treat the Indian soldiers, who were looked after by male orderlies, some Indian, and some European. Whether this was common, I don't know.

One of my soldiers from Fiji, an Indian translator, served in Basra, and returned with a wife, but whether she was involved with anything military I don't know

W Rajah Gopaul Naidu

King George’s Own Rifles, Sappers & Miners

2nd Queen Victoria’s Sappers & Miners

Indian interpreter

Fiji Civil Service Interpreter;

served Basra, Mesopotamia

returned to Fiji September 1919 with wife.

No Indian women in Fiji did anything other than help raise money for various Funds, including the Indian Soldiers Fund. Perhaps women in India also helped in this way, or even ran this type of Fund.

Christine

Interesting question. In a report on Indian Army hospitals in Britain (Sept. 1915) it states:

"In a paper read at the Sessional Meeting of the Conference convened by the Royal Sanitary Institute at Brighton, on September 3rd, Major S. P. James, M.D., D.P.H., I.M.S., of the Kitchener Hospital, Brighton,