Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

John H E Shepley RE

johnny_doyle

Two of my Gt Grandfather's served in the RE during WWI.

Sapper Joseph Niland, 95796, was KIA 28/3/1917 and served in 179 Tunnelling Company, RE.

I know from the medal cards that Sapper John Henry Elvin Shepley served with the RE and his service number was 13441 but not the details of his unit. Is there any way to find out what unit he served in within the RE?

John H E Shepley died in 1943 in Macclesfield, Cheshire. His death cert indicates that he died of blood poisoning as a result of wounds received in November 1918. Apparently he had to regularly go into hospital after demob.

John

Hi John,

First of all a disclaimer. I am not an expert on the RE :D

My observations are based on my own experiences with my Grandfather (see my signature)

You should read up the section on RE in The Long Long Trail http://www.1914-1918.net/

As Royal Engineers were in companies (Field, etc), you need to find some evidence which will point to a possible company. Any documention, letters, etc that might have some clue ie 95th FC or if he was wounded, then work back to where to see if you can link to a Division. This is a long shot and you may find nothing. Even a family story handed down needs to be investigated which may include battles.

If you do find something, then a trip to the NAA (PRO) at Kew may be required to search through War Diaries, (company if you get that close, divisional, related infantry war diaries, etc)

Then, if you are really lucky you might find a name relating to deaths, wounding, etc but don't bank on it.

Also if you have any photos they may help as well.

I hope you find out more

Peter

Tracing the Royal Engineers is very difficult (my great-grandfather is still "served somewhere in France").

Was John discharged early from the army?

Is there a "SWB List" reference on his Medal Index Card?