Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Numbering in the Buffs

Guest Hill 60

One of my Grandfathers (George Bradbury) served in the Buffs during the War, he joined up in 1916 aged 18 years.

Now, I'm no expert when it comes to Army numbers but I believe that it is possible on occasions to identify which battalion a man was in by his number. If I am right (and that ain't often!) could someone tell me what battalion he would have possibly been in please?

He was severly wounded in F&F in 1917 and wound up in the Labour Corps by the end of the War.

Any tips or solutions greatly welcomed! I wish I had talked to him when he was alive and found all this info out when I had the chance, but try telling a teenage boy in the 80's to talk to his Grandfather when there were girls and Two Tone music on his mind!!

The keen-sighted out there will have noticed that I missed out one vital piece of information to my question, my Grandfather's number!

It was 22379.

Sorry about that, had the girls and Two Tone music on my mind again! :huh:

Lee

As you are probably aware the only sure fire way to identify the Battalion is by checking the medal index/rolls at Kew.

Some Regiments used a system whereby it was possible to identify their original battalion.

In the Bedfordshire Rgt training Battalions (3rd and 4th) the men were identified by a prefix to their number so a man in the third was numbered 3/1234 or the fourth 4/1234, these men retained the number after moving to other Bedfordshire Rgt Battalions, but often even on official papers the 3/(4/) was dropped.

If you see this type of number it usually means the man was from the pre war reserve. Many 3/ numbers appear in lists for the original 7th Beds men as they were used to bolster the ranks with some experience. I have done some research on this subject and found it to be less than an exact science.

P.S. The Selector and The Beat were my favourates