Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Canadian Uniform

Raster Scanning

Can someone help me identify this jacket. It has what appear to be contemporary patches on the upper arm and standard bar type CANADA shoulder titles. The collar dogs are 39th Battalion and the buttons are Canada pattern.

There is no paper label or other markings that I can see. The shape of the pocket flaps puzzles me. Is this a jacket that was worn by the Canadians in WW1? If it is I suspect it has been tailored by the owner.

I do not know if the patches represent the 39th Battalion, or a higher formation maybe?

Your thoughts are appreciated.

John

post-23-1061293132.jpg

Collar Dog

post-23-1061293243.jpg

Inside

post-23-1061293326.jpg

Hi John

I'm no expert, not even a novice, at uniform and equipment, but Osprey 164 "The Canadian Army at War" seems to show at least two jackets with pockets flaps of similar shape. It's a photo on P.9 - the caption reads:- "Group of Canadian troops June 1916. At least two wear the badge of the 15th Bn. (48th Highlanders of Canada). The remainder of the insignia and uniform is a motley selection typical of the soldier at the front".

Stand by for the deluge of info from across the N Atlantic!!!! :)

I also am not an expert on uniforms, but two things puzzled me.

First, the shoulder patches. Each Canadian division wore a rectangular patch of solid colour, and the one on your uniform most closely compares to the 2nd Div., which wore dark blue. (3rd Div had French gray, or a lighter blue). The red strip above the blue patch could possibly be a 5th Bde HQ flash, although it should be just as wide as the div patch.

The other thing concerns the 39th Bn collar badges. The 39th never made it to France, serving as a reserve battalion in England. They were never part of the 2nd or 3rd Divs.

Just some thoughts. Hopefully one of our more knowledgeable forum members can help us further.

Terry