Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Private AV Sweet 1/4 Hants

CJH

I've only just discovered this brilliant site !

I have been researching my great uncle Albert Victor Sweet for a few years - below is what I have managed to find out so far - can anybody add anything else or anything about the 1/4 Hants in general?

I am particularly interested as to how he ended up enlisting in Southampton when he was from Richmond.

Pvt 204164 Albert Victor Sweet of Richmond Surrey

1/4 Hampshire Regiment

Enlsited in Southampton

Killed in action aged 19 - Crossing of the Tigris 25.2.17

Commerated at the Basra memorial Iraq

(Incorrectly listed by CWGC as died 25.2. 19)

Welcome aboard, CJH. The 1/4th hants were a territorial battalion, hailing from Winchester. In 1914 their division (the 1st Wessex) went to India, and the various battalions were widely distributed. The Long Trail site will give you the basics.

As for enlisting in Southampton when he came from Richmond, there are many possibilities - the most likely being that he was working in the area, or on holiday, or had family connections. Any idea when he enlisted?

Hi Steven

Thanks for replying.

I have looked at most of the sources mentioned on the Long Long Trail in order to get the information I have mentioned so far - I started out with really no information at all - I just inherited his bronze memorial plaque and sadly none of the surviving members of my family really knew anything at all about him.

I'm afraid I haven't been able to get a date of his enlistment in Southampton - why still remains a mystery to me - the Sweets were well established in Richmond with no connections with Southampton that I can find.

Because I don't have a date I can't tell whether he went straight out to Mespot as a replacemnet or if he went via India as the 1/4 did initially.