Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Great Grandad - Lancashire Fusiliers - MM + DCM ?

Max (UK)

Hello

With many thanks to Susan, I am so excited that I am getting somewhere with researching my Great Grandad.

First of all, he was Denis McEvoy, born and bred in Blackburn, Lancashire. Tailor by trade and his father came over from Co.Kilkenny, Ireland. All I knew is that he fought in France and joined WW1 quite late.

--

So, Susan found this medal card :-

3.jpg

Corporal in 1st Lancashire Fusiliers awarded a DCM - that was a suprise !

So I went looking for the citation and found it in the L.G. under D. McEvoy - really happy !!

--

But also two more citations came up for Military Medal awards. What was suprising was that his DCM citation lists him as "MM" - so he must have already had a military medal ?

This is the first, which matches exactly (also 1st Lanc Fus) :-

2.jpg

--

But then there is another one too - could it be him? The thing is, it lists him as a Private in the Grenadier Guards. But :-

( a ) The G.G. are listed as Blackburn, where he was from.

( b ) He is listed as "formerly Grenadier Guards" on N.A. listing for his MM award

( c ) The "matching" MM award states him as a Private. But then in the listing in the L.G. says Private (Corporal) - so does this indicate a promotion ?

This MM award is for Grenadier Guards, a Private, etc. Enlisted in Blackburn.....

1.jpg

The only thing is - the date of the L.G. listing is later than the other MM award.........so could it still be him? Or is it possible that the L.G. didn't publish it until much later?

Also.....is it possible to be awarded the Military Medal twice ?

Finally, I read somewhere that DCM winners got their photos published - this would be the most amazing thing.....I have no photo of him at all. Is there anywhere I could check this, please?

Any help would be really appreciated.......also I'm really sorry if I haven't written this very well !