Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Who/Where/When??? Help!!

Guest Tephra.10

Guest Tephra.10

How would I go about finding out about a particular person??? Trying to find Ernest Abbott Onley aka Frederick Onley - Fred Only - Fred Blunt. (Born 10/10/1887 Islington, London) Supposedly in the Royal Engineers during WW1 based in London due to injury. I've found an Ernest Onley in the NA medal files, (Royal Artillery, clerk and Royal Field Artillery, acting bombardier) but don't know if it's him or not. I understand he may have changed his name as he wanted to 'escape' from his parents.......they didn't get on apparently.

Could anyone suggest ways and means to go about finding Ernest? I'm rather new to this and totally stumped. :(

Thanks

Barbara

If you go to the mother site, The Long Long trail, you will find information there to get you started. The forum members will be more than happy to help when you come back looking for specific details. Good luck and beware, it's addictive.

Guest Tephra.10
If you go to the mother site, The Long Long trail, you will find information there to get you started. The forum members will be more than happy to help when you come back looking for specific details. Good luck and beware, it's addictive.

Hi Tom

Unfortunately, I don't have any other information to go with regarding Ernest, I don't even know which regiment he was with. There are no medals, no service records or books, no photos.....nothing!!!

The only details I could find out from family is that he was supposedly in the Engineers and due to an injury (don't even know if it was war related) he was transfered to a P.O.W. camp outside Birmingham (they think!) as a guard.

How on earth would I find anything out with so little information???

Barbara

Hi Tom