Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Great War Nurse

Guest belgiumpoppies

Guest belgiumpoppies

One of my characters in my book is a Great War VAD nurse, living in the London area. I have some information (mostly general) about VADs, such as Vera Brittain, and a guide reprinted at the Imperial War Museum, some mentions in books, but not much else. Does anyone have any more information on their recruitment, rules, where based (ie Etaples) etc? Thank you for your help

One of my characters in my book  is a Great War VAD nurse, living in the London area. I have some information (mostly general) about VADs, such as Vera Brittain, and a guide reprinted at the Imperial War Museum,  some mentions in books, but not much else. Does anyone have any more information on their recruitment, rules, where based (ie Etaples) etc? Thank you for your help

Im no expert on the VAD but some bits from info i collated sometime ago

The Volunteer Aid Detachments (V.A.D) were formed in 1909 , it was intended these detachments would reinforce medical elements of the Territorial Force in times of national emergency, controlled by the county Territorial Force associations they were in affect reserve Territorials eventhough they were part of and wore the red cross. During the Great War thousands of detachments were raised. it is worthy of note, even numbered units were formed by women, odd numbered detachments by men.

The VAD's were part of the Red Cross and as such wore the red cross as part of their uniforms as opposed to the regular, territorial and reservist armed forces nurses who did not. During the great war the Red Cross assisted by the St Johns raised V.A.D's whose compliment were partly trained and available to replace R.A.M.C male medical orderlies serving within military hospitals at home and overseas.