Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Allied Soldiers at rest (british or Dominion)

gporta

Another image from yet another yellowing old magazine. I hope it can be of interest to someone

This time the caption reads (roughly translated): "The Allied Offensive in South-West Flanders. Soldiers resting after the advance"

I'm not an expert enough in the subject, so I can't tell you whether these fellows are British or Dominion soldiers. I am also posting a detail in which a shoulder title and a badge can be seen (though not in detail).

The magazine's publishing date is September 8th 1917.

Gloria

post-6853-1129401006.jpg

The soldiers look absolutely "all done in" on this picture Gloria. Thank you for sharing it with us and I hope someone can fill in more detail for you.

They are all wearing P14 Infantry equipment.

This is almost certainly British troops.

This type of equipment was rarely worn by dominion troops.

I don't think the Australians ever adopted it and for the Canadians, the Canadian MGC adopted it but no others. If it was seen worn by Canadian Infantry it usually was a single set amongst a lot of web. I can only recall one photo like this.

Joe Sweeney

Joe, Spike,

I had similarly suspected the 1914 leather equipment, but I wasn't altogether sure about it being used or not by dominion soldiers, so thanks for the information.

As far as the picture is related to the fighting in Flanders, I noticed that the soldiers are not as muddy as one would have been lead to expect... maybe the rains were not too heavy at this time of the year yet...

Even though the town -or village- seems the tipical undistinguishable amount of rubble many front-line settlements were turned into, maybe the wall, and the street number, might be recognized somehow.

Gloria

Gloria,