Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Private George Cassie, Gordon Highlanders 1st/7th

Guest balnacoul

Guest balnacoul

Hi everyone, the knowledge and expertise on the site is amazing and having seen the help given to others I,m hoping you can help.

From a recent family funeral, I got the information that my grandfather had a half brother, who according to the story was working in a field near Skene, Aberdeenshire when a recruiting party passed by, he took the "kings shilling" and went off to war but never made it back.

What I have gleaned so far Private George Cassie 292156, was in the Gordon Highlanders 1st/7th Bn, is listed in cwgc as commonwealth war dead in Skene parish churchyard.

His death certificate is almost impossible to read, but the parts I have managed to decipher indicate that he suffered gunshot wounds to the chest, but survived for 4 days before dying.

Unfortunately as a total novice having no knowledge of army structures, I am finding it extremely difficult to work out exactly where he was and when? where is he buried?

The only thing I am certain of is that every answer brings more questions, so any help would be very much appreciated.

From SDGW,

Private George Cassie 7th battalion Gordon Highlanders.

Died of wounds-home on August 13th 1918.

Born=Skene.

Enlisted=Echt, Aberdeenshire.

Bob.

Surname CASSIE

Firstname George

Service number 292156

Date of death 13/08/1918

Decoration

Place of birth Skene Aberdeenshire

Other 7th Bn.

SNWM roll THE GORDON HIGHLANDERS

Rank Pte

Theatre of death Home.

Name: CASSIE, GEORGE

Initials: G

Nationality: United Kingdom

Regiment: Gordon Highlanders

Unit Text: 1st/7th Bn.

Date of Death: 13/08/1918

Service No: 292156

Casualty Type: Commonwealth War Dead

Grave/Memorial Reference: Near right-hand corner.

Cemetery: SKENE PARISH CHURCHYARD

He is buried in Skene with four other soldiers, three Gordons and a Scots Guard.

Aye

Malcolm

Guest balnacoul