Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Cpl Percy Hague's Squad, Machine gun guards

chrishoggy

Hi all,

I'm trying to research in to my great grandfathers history in WW1. This is the only image I have and info is VERY sketchy at best. I have no details of any medals or where/when he was posted in the war. I know he was found alive in a blast crater along with one other man, after being reported as missing in action. He was shipped home and suffered with shell shock for a long time.

If anybody can give me any info from this photo, it would be much appreciated. My grandfather was Cpl Percy Hague, and the rest of the men in that image I have no names for. The Image was very badly damaged and un-viewable. I've spent hours restoring it, and bringing back as much detail as possible (I digitally restore photos for a living). If anybody would like a high res copy of the image for themselves, I am more than happy to Email it to anybody requesting it. The current file size is 8914 x 5630 pixels, but I can resize it to any size requested.

Thanks in advance for any help ;)

Chris

gand.jpg

Dear Chris,

For starters the link below will take you to his medal index card (MIC). I'm guessing he's the Coldstream Guards one.

http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/documen...r=1&querytype=1

Is this him? If it is, you can download the MIC for £3.50 and it will tell you what medals he was awarded. You could then post that onto the site and others should be able to decipher anything you're unsure of. Although I've provided another link to help you understand what an MIC will tell you:

http://www.1914-1918.net/grandad/grandad.htm#medals

It would help if you knew what battalion he was in, but I've provided a few links for you below to guards sites:

http://www.regiments.org/regiments/uk/guards/f-2CG.htm

http://www.1914-1918.net/coldguards.htm

Like I said any extra info you can provide will help members of this site.