Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Canterbury Pals (East Kent Reg)

Grey Squirrel

Dear All

I have seen a mention of the Canterbury Pals in Gordon Corrigan's "Mud, Blood & Poppycock" which I'm reading at present. Two tables in the book refer to Canterbury Pals (East Kent Reg) suffering 40% casualties (747 out of 1,882 were killed). Does anyone know which particular battalion was the Canterbury Pals, or can anyone suggest how I might find out? Thanks.

Apologies if this is a really elementary question... I have little experience of WW1 research.

Stephen

Does anyone know which particular battalion was the Canterbury Pals,

To be honest, I can't say I've ever heard of this term before and can't find any official listing of this term being used to describe any particular battalion of the Buffs.

However, just like the unnofficially titled "Bournemouth Pals", "Burnley Pals" and the "Preston Pals" (none of which (apart from the Burnley Pals, who were a part of a "pals" battalion) were actually officially recognised "Pals" units), I suppose the Canterbury Pals could have been a company within a battalion rather than the whole battalion.

The East Kent's service battalions that were raised in Canterbury were the 6th, 7th and 8th Battalions. Chances are that the "Canterbury Pals" were a part of one of these (probably the 6th).

Dave.

Stephen

First of all welcome to the forum!

I concur with Dave, the pals battalions seem to be more of a northern thing although plenty of "pals" joined up together elsewhere in the country. Many units and companies carried local names to give them a local identity and encourage local pride to help recruiting

I'd be interested in what the table refers to. According to "Soldiers Died in the Great War" the Buffs dead were as follows

6th Battalion 1,350

7th Battalion 1,062

8th Battalion 585