Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Air-collision of two United States planes

Malte Znaniecki

Hi,

I found a peace of paper in a book, it's a part of an illustrated serial.

Could anyone tell me more?

thankful for some help

Malte

post-7367-1124378267.jpg

Malte

I'm not too good at identifying post-War aircraft types, but from the style of the markings, they look like US aeroplanes of the late 1920s-early 1930s.

Sorry I can't help more.

Gareth

Definitely post-1920 from the markings. Unfortunately, photo is not clear enough to let me identify the aircraft involved (I'm not an expert on this era either). However, there is something about this photo which bothers me-- I think it's a fake of some kind. That parachute and parachutist don't look realistic-- he's above the aircraft, but the chute hasn't yet deployed fully, and the proportions somehow seem a bit off. Also the focus on the aircraft and the parachutist seem different, which shouldn't be with standard cameras in daylight of the period. Could you post the caption to the photo-- that might help, but unfortunately I can't read it off my screen. Doc2

It is a fake. It was examined in detail, along with a few others, in an article I read sometime in the 1960's (possibly in Air Classics or True?) The author even found the source of the original image of the 'chute from a daredevil jumping from a tethered balloon.

Regards,

Bruce

It is a fake.  It was examined in detail, along with a few others, in an article I read sometime in the 1960's (possibly in Air Classics or True?)  The author even found the source of the original image of the 'chute from a daredevil jumping from a tethered balloon. 

Regards,

Bruce

Thanks for the confirmation. Just didn't look right to me. Doc2

For what its worth, I think the aircraft are Boeing P12s (Army designation) or Boeing F4Bs (Navy).