Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

soldiers enlisting

mags_greenwood@yahoo.co.uk

In the past I have heard about young boys lying about their age and adding a few years on to enlist, but has anyone heard of someone taking years off to enlist? I ask this because I have just discovered that my Gt. Grandfather lied about his age. He was 41 when he died, but the army death certificate I recently received says that he was 37. At first, I thought I had been researching the wrong chap, and so backtracked everything very carefully, but it is most definitely him. (There is too much supporting evidence for it not to be him). Also, he was a coal miner by profession which I think was a reserved occupation (could someone confirm or deny this for me?). If this was the case, technically he did not need to go to war. Why lie about his age? Surely they would have taken him anyway if he wanted to go so much.

Any thoughts?

:ph34r:

Margaret

Margaret,

Yes, that is the case with many who joined.

For a point of interest they had to raise the upper age limit of joining from 30 to 35 when war broke out as there was uproar that many veterans of past conflicts could not join.

My own Great Grandfather joined like this at the age of 34, he was 38 when he died in 1918.

The oldest enlistee is a chap called Henry Webber. See the link below:

http://www.cwgc.org/cwgcinternet/casualty_...?casualty=39319

who was 68 when he died! He continually pestered the war office until they relented and he became a transport officer in the South Lancashire Regiment.

So what happened with your relative is perfectly feasable.

Steve Smith

And yes coal miner was a reserved occupation though I can't tell you details of that.

Thanks chaps,