Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Cheshire Bantam? or Labour Corp or both?

Guest booklady

Guest booklady

I'm very new to this, so I'll hope you be able to help, I've read and re-read the Grandad pages and have downloaded the medal index. The purpose of the exploration into my Grandfather is to find out where he would have fought but so far I have come up with other questions.

I have always been told he was Cheshire Regt, Labour Corp and was gassed in WW1.

Was the Labour Corp part of the Cheshires or was it somewhere he would have transferred to after he was gassed?

Secondly, if he was transferred would he definitely have been a Bantam previously as he was under 5ft?

Thirdly, My father mentions he may have originally have signed with the Kings (Liverpool) Regiment would all of these transfers show on his medal roll if this still exists..

Many Thanks for any light you can throw on these issues, I'm sure I'll be back with more.

Hello Booklady

Is there any chance that you can post an image of the index card?

Welcome to the forum.

Andy

Debbey

The Labour Corps was a separate part of the army - normally filled with men unfit for front line combat. He could have served in the Corps before OR after the Cheshires. If you publish the Index card we might be able to deduce which was the case. His Cheshire service number may give me some clues as to his service.

It is also possible that he did originally joinn the King's Liverpool - but if he didnt serve abroad with them, it wouldnt show on the Index Card. Did he come from the Merseyside area.

John

(PS: welcome to the Forum)

Guest booklady

I don't think it will be possible to copy the medal card download. If I posted the link here which the archive centre sent is that allowed?