Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Same soldier, Two BWM's

private78245

Pte. 3720. J W Biddle. R War R. Received Star, Bwm, Bvm. under this number, also a Bwm under the number 10232. Can someone please tell me how this happened.

Regards Dave. :(

Dave,

did he transfere to another unit.reg?

maybe thats why but i'm no expert by any means, but there are some on here are,

Mandy

Pte. 3720. J W Biddle. R War R. Received Star, Bwm, Bvm. under this number, also a Bwm under the number 10232.  Can someone please tell me how this happened.

Regards  Dave. :(

Hello Dave

Have you actually got the medals?

Andy

Hello Dave

Have you actually got the medals?

Andy

I have the medals,they are my brother in laws fathers medals. the second medal reads Pte. 10232 J W Biddle. R War R. regards Dave. :(

Hello Dave

I must admit that I have never heard of this before. I would think that the most likely explanation is that one of the medals is a rename to replace a lost one and then the original has been found again.Just a thought, but I am sure some of the real medal experts on here will have a much more likely explanation.

Andy

Whilst there are two BWM there are also two Medal Index Cards! both men are James W. Biddle,

3720 J.W.Biddle served with the Warwickshire Regt{TF Bn; from the Number} & Machine Gun Corps[143083]

10232 J.W.Biddle served with the 2nd[Regular] Bn,Warwickshire Regt[very early Kitchener K1 Number,or late Regular Number{Most regular Numbers end around the 10000 Mark}] then the Ox & Bucks L.I.[25285]