Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Help needed!

Guest diva

Can anyone help me to interpret this information from my grandfather's obituary:"He served with the British Expeditionary Force from 1914-1918 as a member of the 52nd Highland Division". What exactly does all that mean? Does it tell you where he served, and what he did in the army?

I also have the information (from my mother and grandmother) that he was in the Signal Corps in this Highland division, and that after that he was in the Navy Reserve as a Junior Engineer on an Atlantic transport. Does this jibe with the information from his obituary? What is the Signal Corps, what was the 52nd Highland Division,and what is an Atlantic transport?

I guess it's pretty obvious that I'm a novice at this type of information, but that's why I'm turning to the experts on this Forum for help!

My grandfather's name was Andrew William Murray, born in Glasgow in 1897, but raised in Aberdeen, and immigrated to the US in 1920.

Many thanks in advance for any help!

Bonnie

Bonnie

A quick point that will help you in "Google" searches. The 52nd Division was not the Highland Division, that was the 51st Division.

The 52nd Division was from the Lowlands of Scotland.

51st (Highland) Division

52nd (Lowland) Division.

Hope this helps

The fact he was "raised in Aberdeen" and that he allegedly served with the BEF might indicate he was in the 51st, rather then the 52nd, Division. Although the 52nd ended up in France, most of their service was in the Middle East, so my guess is that your chap was more liley in the Highland Division Signal Company.

A member of the Divisonal Signal Company would have been a Royal Engineer.

The 51st and 52nd Divisions were Territorial Force Divisions (similar to the US National Guard, if you're in the States). These units had there own numbering systems which were reorganised in early 1917 when all the Territorial soldiers were given a new number.